Freewriting

Hey, hey, everybody! Gumiho here with more on writing!

What’s This About?

We’re talking all about freewriting today. You may have heard about it, but been on the fence about it, or maybe you haven’t heard about it at all. Either way you’ve come to the right place so have a snack and put up your feet.

What is Freewriting anyway?

To be brief, it’s a small free association type exercise that you can do at any time, any place, on computer, paper, or what have you. Usually you get on a blank page and just type whatever comes to mind without editing. And if you can’t think of what to write, you just keep writing that you can’t think of what to write.

Wait a minute…What does it do exactly?

A multitude of things. First and foremost because we are writers here, allow me to say that it’s a good exercise for generating ideas. Personally, I use it to polish my description skills, character skills, and other craft skills that I’m working on at the moment. Before a writing session, I open up a fresh document in Scrivener and keep at it until I’ve gotten to about 20 pages. Then I save the doc and shove it to a little time capsule folder for safekeeping. Once in a while I open that folder and prune it for ideas. I think I’m up to 13 or 14 of these 20 page documents now, which is more than enough to be its own novel!

But if you’re not much of a pre-writing junkie, you don’t have to use it for that at all. Sometimes, I’ve found it helps when you’re stressed or upset and you want to vent.

Who does it help? Should I use it?

If you have really bad writer’s block, I’d definitely recommend it. Even if you get nowhere, it gets your cogs spinning and more importantly, it gets you writing. Maybe you’re not necessarily stuck, but you’re feeling like you’re in a dry idea spell, or maybe you just want to spice up your novel, a character, a setting, or what have you.

Even if you’re not stuck on anything, I also found that a few minutes of freewriting helped me out a lot with my longer writing sessions. My writing became looser and the words flowed easier on days when I did it versus when I didn’t.

But I’ll say this too, freewriting is a great exercise and all, but if it’s really not your thing then don’t force it. Some people aren’t writing exercise people and just want to dive into their writing projects and that’s great too. But I’m a big advocate of try it once or twice in the world of writing before I completely dump it.

It’s getting to be late as I’m writing this so I’m signing off. Keep writing, you crazies and I’ll see you next time.

 

Leave a Reply

