Brainstorming Changed My Writing Forever And It Can Take Yours To The Next Level

Hey everybody! I’m back with more new stuff about writing and testing out a new theme on the site! Not quite sure if I like it yet, but who knows it may stay or it may change. Today we’re going to talk about brainstorming.

And no, we’re not talking about the kind where you sit and draw circles on a piece of paper, (but you can still do that if you really want). It’s a kind that you can do with friends.

Wait A Minute…Brainstorming With Friends? Not By Myself?

Yep. No closed closets on this one. I understand that can be hard if you don’t really talk to other people about your writing, but stick with me on this. As much as writing is a solitary activity, when you’ve written something you become so blind to the glaring errors, the plot holes, and the logistical problems for one. And brainstorms with a friend are great for giving life to old ideas, building up new ones, or just getting you out of being stuck in general.

Let me give you an example, in my own books, I was having some trouble in my novel because I wanted to reuse an old idea. There used to be totem poles in my old drafts, but I couldn’t figure out how to get them into the story in this draft because made a lot of changes. So I called up my writer friend on Google Hangouts for a video call to talk about it. As a bonus, I even brought my engineering friend along in the call because I hadn’t seen her for a while.

And you know what happened?

I went from being stuck on the old idea of totem poles being like keys to get past barriers to totem poles being involved with the opening of demon gates at a certain hour of the day according to Chinese zodiac times. Totally different direction than what I was expecting. Needless to say, I was pretty happy with how that turned out and I’m still excited about writing that stuff into the story. 😀

How Does This Bizzaro Contraption Work Then?

It’s pretty easy. All you need is…

  • 1 document to take notes on
  • Some ideas you’re having trouble with or tossing around
  • A captive audience  I mean friends to brainstorm with 😀 *shifty eyes*

 

When picking your captive, err, friends, I highly recommend that you pick people that are familiar with your book. Maybe they’ve read a draft or two (and hopefully liked it). The last thing you want is to bring someone who won’t or can’t contribute much to the table.

But one final reminder, at the end of the day, no matter what your buddies tell you to do or not do, don’t forget that the story always comes first. The input of others is  great, but don’t compromise or tear down your book for every idea that they give you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

