Write Or Die 2

Hey, hey, everyone Gumiho here. I know this post is going to be coming up later in the day than usual, but I wasn’t feeling particularly well earlier and I wanted to wait until I could tolerate a writing session, so please bear with it. But if the picture is any indication of fun levels for tonight, you’re in for a treat.

Some of you may have heard of something called Write or Die before. If you haven’t, then good! 😀 (Just kidding!) I picked up its baby Write Or Die 2 on a whim one day. Not because I need the extra program, but because sometimes as a crazy writer, I want to live life on the edge like this guy here…0e0a8d5c29ccc0ab8634258870d40895ceb8246e48c06f1da56ef50370ab7c62.jpg

And I have to admit, my feels on the matter are mixed. I can only describe it as being frightened, fascinated, in-love, and paranoid all at once.

The good thing about it is that it’s got a lot of nice settings and cool features that your average program might not offer, like playing sounds for you as you write, adding scenery in the background, letting you set your word count goals, (which is great for you NaNoWriMo people)! Additions like this are what I enjoy the most in a writing program because we all know that every single one of them is going to let do the necessities.

But of course if you’ve used Write or Die before, then you probably know what’s coming next.

And that’s the “Die” aspect.

*takes a deep breath* Oh boy.

Where do I even begin? If you’re the type of person who can only work via loud noises, flashing colors, and other types of paranoia-inducing madness, then keep reading. For me, I love this because it’s crazy, chaotic, and super effective (no pokemon joke intended). If you’re lagging on your NaNoWriMo word count or you’re the type to keep getting distracted, you can set noises and unpleasant images to scare you back into focus. Another feature that it’s most famous for is the fact there is a mode where you can set it to erase your words if you get distracted for too long. I haven’t used that one myself, but I’m definitely looking forward to trying. As for the flashing colors and loud noises, all I can say is that they do their dastardly jobs.

Overall, despite the scary parts, I’d recommend  Write or Die 2 to anyone who’s struggling to keep their bums in the chair.

*Update*: I actually did get around to trying the word-erasing Kamikaze mode and it’s interesting. At first I wasn’t sure what was going on when it started erasing my words, but when I looked at it, it looked like it was just erasing the vowels in the words I typed and not the whole words. It didn’t seem like I could customize the Kamikaze mode in anyway, so I’m assuming there isn’t a variation that erases your whole word. I like that because my biggest initial worry, and maybe you have this too, was that it would erase everything you wrote, but I guess they didn’t want to make it so that you have to rewrite everything.

Most importantly, you aren’t forced use anything other than the basic type functions and the word count goal gauge, so if you don’t want to be bothered with the pressure of noises and your words going ka-blooey, don’t worry. You can just do vanilla things if you want. But if you’re up to the challenge, give some of the other ones a go!

If you dare.

 

Leave a Reply

