A Little Bit Of Undertale Teaches A Lot About Story Writing

Hey everyone, Gumiho here and I’m back with another post on something that I never expected to be talking about.

If you’re a PC gamer, or any kind of gamer at all, you may have heard of something called Undertale. It’s a popular video game on steam that I’ve been curious about for a while because the claim to fame is that is has such an amazing story.

And naturally when I hear the word story in any context these days, I have to check out. What makes it a good story?

Well, I sat down and looked at different runs of it to find out.

And holy sh*t.

There’s stuff here that even us story writers can learn from. And the biggest lesson here is that good and evil are all relative. If you think about it, we as writers often make “heroes” and put those “heroes” against “villains” to get a “satisfying ending”.

But something that writers don’t always consider is that “villains” aren’t really evil. No one is really ever born evil. Characters are only evil because we see them that way, usually they’re doing what they think is normal, right, or the only option. And Undertale is a game that really challenges your mind to really think about what good and evil really means, which is what I love about it. You do what you think you should do in a normal game, “fighting evil”, and you get the shock of your life for it.

It’s something that I wish I could see more of in the books I pick up rather than the traditional hero slays monster story. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but it’s done so much that it’s hard to put an interesting spin on it because we all know who wins in those kinds of stories.

But who knows, maybe we will see more books like these. I know I’m definitely taking some pointers from Undertale. And if you’re thinking about playing it, I’d definitely recommend it. If you’re out of story ideas and looking for something to refresh your brain, I’d still recommend it for that too.

In the meantime, I’m off. See ya’ll next post.

8 thoughts on “A Little Bit Of Undertale Teaches A Lot About Story Writing

      • Ideally, I’d love for it to go multiconsole — more people to play it, the better! I would personally love to see it come to the Nintendo Switch, that way I can also play it on the go πŸ˜›

        That said, do you share your posts on any other websites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Movie Pilot and Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. If you were open to the idea of posting your work on our sites in addition to also having your blog/site here, I’d be more than happy to help you get started. My e-mail and more info can be found on my page. (o^.^)b

        Like

  1. Hi! As a writer and fellow Undertake fan, I appreciate this post! I try to strive for the same good and evil scenarios as this game, and use it as a source of inspiration. Hopefully this game helps my stories be ‘sans’sational. I’d love to share writing tips together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

