Feeling Like An Impostor Is More Common Than We Think

It’s the 21st century and we have so much opportunity to be what we’ve dreamed of, to make real change in the world, and to make a difference, but that’s just where the problem is…we can.

This is something I’ve been wondering about for a while. Writers, artists, songwriters, songwriting-arting-writers and some form of crippling anxiety usually go hand in hand, or if it’s not anxiety, it’s depression, or some form of feeling like garbage. I’ve witnessed this across friends, acquaintances, and even famous people struggle with this: Tina Fey, Maya Angelou, people who are already established in their business (rip Maya Angelou ;-;).

And even me. I get it sometimes too. Maybe you do too. If so, read on.

Now let’s cut to the chase: this has been around for a while, it’s called Impostor Syndrome, which is feeling like you’re a fraud, when you actually aren’t one.

How do you know that you aren’t one?

Now I doubt that you’re really impersonating someone in the attempts to ride their coattails to success, but if you were thinking about it here’s your warning. This guy is a real impostor. People on the internet are like bloodhounds and they sniff out impostors of their favorite content faster than you can say ‘peel it’.

Now if you’re just an average writer, artist or what have you, just trying to get by with your own content and ideas, you’re fine and you will continue to be fine. No one is going to hunt you down. No is going to point fingers and demand you be burned at the stake (unless of course they’re a troll or a time-traveling witch-hunter.)

With that being established, I personally think that Impostor Syndrome is just another form of anxiety. Feel free to agree, disagree, pet puppies or what have you, but that’s the way I think about it, because I think it can be dealt with.

How do I deal it and keep it from bothering me too much?

I. Keep. Writing(insert any substitute activity here).

Yeah seriously. Not because I’m bulletproof to Impostor Syndrome or anything, I’m in this writing thing because I love it. And when I’m writing/ drawing/making music/ do any art/ playing video games/ I’m rarely thinking of anything else. It’s meditation to me. The other reason is more bluntly:

Ain’t nobody got time for that. College loan payments are around the corner and they don’t care if I feel like a fraud. They care if I have some money on the due date though. 😛 No books being written means no money coming in. No posts being written means nobody getting helped.

But there is another thing, I’m not sure how many people can relate to this, but I just hate being told I can’t do something, whether it’s from a person or my own personal feelings. Anytime there’s any voice in my head that relates to feeling like a fraud, or telling me I can’t do something, I have the auto-response of yelling back at that doubt something along the lines “Yes, I can!” or “I’m going to do it anyway!”. And you know what, it works for me 100%. I just can’t stand the thought of a feeling telling me what I can and can’t do. It’s a feeling. I’m a person. It only has the power that you hand over to it, or at least that’s how I think of it.

Now, I understand everyone might not find that applicable to them. Some people might want something easier to apply. You can check out this post if you find yourself wanting more or if you’re more curious about Impostor Syndrome.

But as for me, I’m getting out of dodge. See ya’ll later!

Leave a Reply

