Meditative Monday: Everything I’d Do Differently If I Had To Start My Writing Journey All Over Again (Part 5)

Oh ho ho! It’s yet another Meditative Monday which means there’s even more fun to be had, especially if you recognize today’s featured image. But let’s not dilly-dally or shilly-shally.

To the meat!

 

To Never…And I Mean NEVER Give Up On Drawing

For two reasons…

One, drawing is not something that you just abandon and pick up where you left off. You have to recover your hand-eye coordination. The more of a beginner you are, the worse this hits you because you have to fight your hand and lack of knowledge at the same time.

Two, drawing has helped me change the way I think about my writing and world building. I can visualize scenes and images a little stronger now. I make better decisions about characters and cultures. I think more about the small life-like details and how a world functions as a whole.

I’m a big fan of concept art and one of the things that I like about it so much is that it’s not just face rolling all over your graphics tablet. It involves research, iterations, and it’s very scientific and deliberate in the way you approach a subject.

One of my side dreams is to make a concept art book for my novels some day and to be able to express all of my ideas in multiple mediums. Looking at other games like Zelda helps in this aspect too, I’m happy to say.

Talk Less…Do More

There is a reason why we say the road to hell is paved with good intentions people.

I actually didn’t understand what this meant for a long time as a kid. Only recently did this actually start to click in my head.

The thing is…most average Joe mean well. We want to do the right thing. We want to go to the gym. We want to finish that book. We like to think that our partners, friends, and family understand that we appreciate them without us saying it outright.

And that is the problem, the “thinking and wanting” we do in our head does not matter to other people, even if you do verbally express it. Talk is talk. You can intend all the good in the world, but if you do the wrong thing consistently, that is what you will be remembered for.

Some weeks ago, I started to take a look at myself and say, “Destine, what kind of person do you want to be?” Not achievement-wise. But character-wise.

I think that because I had to unlearn many difficult and bad behaviors on my own, the power of being able to forge my own character into what I want it to be is very important.

But one of the most important things for me nowadays is being the kind of person that lives by their actions.

Maybe I’ve just had the most unfortunate selection of friends, family, and environment (I hope this is the case) but the amount of people who follow through with what they say they’re going to do seems to be astronomically small. The upside to this, is that just taking action can do wonders to set you apart.

Because of this, I disregard table talk and only pay attention to what a person does. Sometimes I even disregard past achievements too. Harsh-sounding sure, but it’s a measure to separate people who are the real deal and consistently improve from the people who are okay with complacency. And the latter, I stay the hell away from.

Now I’ve heard some other people mention this too, but I find that talking about an idea too much sucks the fun out of it. To the point of me not wanting to do it.

Instead, I feel like I’d much rather just come out when something is done. And in my experience, I get taken a lot more seriously when I’ve already done something than if I just talk about doing it or if I’m in the middle of doing it. So I’d rather let actions speak whenever possible.

Play A Lot More Zelda And Savor It While I Can

I know what you’re probably thinking. Video games? Lazy mode!

Not exactly.

For one, regardless of whether I’ve watched someone play the games in a Let’s Play, or played the games myself, I can’t ignore fact that the Zelda series shaped the way I think about my books. Twilight Princess and Breath of the Wild especially.

But also remember, I approach things from my Art History perspective, and I have worked on games before, so when I look at art work or the characters, I don’t see what a layman gamer sees. I’ll marvel at the details in a game asset that you’ll probably never notice. I’ll gush over motif patterns and the cultural building. I’ll WTF at the historical inaccuracies and love them anyway. Seeing the Zelda team reiterate their world building always makes me a happy camper and it’s something that I want to bring into my own writing.

And not to mention, some storylines really hit me.

Majora’s Mask had the whole “world destruction in 3 days” concept going for it, but also the “putting lost souls to rest” aspect is very beautiful.

Wind Waker had the whole, “I just want to save my sister” part that was endearing.

Twilight Princess was all about “saving the kids” and fighting Zant, but of course you know…there’s Midna. A jackass she may be, but she’s a jackass with character development so I’m all for it.

Skyward Sword, though I curse the controls to hell, had the angle of a monster growing stronger and stronger and continually trying to break free while you’re scrambling to save the world.

In Breath of the Wild, the apocalypse has already hit and the world is trying to rebuild after their plan to fight evil went horribly wrong.

I always find myself silenced at some point because there’s so much about the games that words can’t express and thoughts are too stifling for. It’s a feeling that I hope I can pass onto my writing someday. Preferably everyday!

And never forget…

All the awesome freaking Zelda music.

So in honor of Zelda, I shall not end with telling you to get back in the water, but I will end with this insanely awesome Zelda song that just blows my mind.

 

Leave a Reply

